Prof John Smith

Dr Raymond Chan

Dr Shung-Chang Jong

Professor Gloria Lim

Dr David Moore

Professor Solomon P Wasser

Scientific Advisory Board

The Company’s Scientific Advisory Board comprises eminent scientists and clinicians with academic and commercial experience in mycology and biotechnology especially in the area of drug discovery, development and clinical use.

Professor John Edward Smith, Ph.D, D.Sc, FRSE
Professor Smith is the Company’s Chief Scientific Officer responsible for the research and development of the medicinal properties of exotic mushrooms. He is a Fungal Biotechnologist and an Emeritus Professor of Applied Microbiology at the University of Strathclyde, UK. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the Institute of Biology U.K. Professor Smith also sits on various food and biotechnology committees in UK and Europe. He has authored and co-authored more than 250 scientific papers and 20 books on fungi and fungal biotechnology including a very successful university textbook, ‘Biotechnology’, published by Cambridge University Press. He is on the editorial board of several major microbiological and biotechnology journals including International Journal of Medicinal Mushrooms.

Dr Raymond Chang, MD, FACP

Dr Chang is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine at Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York. He is also the Director of the Meridian Medical Group, New York, and was Director for Acute Care and an attending physician at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Centre, New York.

Dr Chang is a consultant to the Federal Trade Commission on nutraceuticals and was an NCI investigator as well as faculty consultant in FDA sponsored workshops for herbal drug development. His research interests include clinical application of medicinal mushrooms and their derivative bioactive fractions especially in cancer; herbal drug development; integrating traditional Chinese medicine with Western medicine. He lectures widely and contributes to scientific journals.

Dr Shung-Chang Jong, Ph.D, DSc

Dr Jong is a Senior Staff Scientist, Director of Yeast Genetic Stock Center and Head of the Mycology and Botany Department at the American Type Culture Collection (ATCC) in charge of the genetic resources of fungi, yeast, plant tissue cultures and seeds. Dr Jong is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology and the Washington Academy of Sciences, an Affiliate Professor of the George Mason University, an Honorary Professor of Wuhan University, Shanghai Teachers University and Yunnan University. His research interests include the industrial, medical, agricultural and scientific applications and cryopreservation of fungi and yeasts in culture. He was Technical Advisor to various biotechnology-related establishments. He also served on the Executive Committee of the International Mycological Association and World Federation for Culture Collections and U.S. Federation for Culture Collections.Dr Jong was honoured by the American Society for Microbiology in 1997 with the J Roger Porter Award. He is the author or co-author of more than 180 publications and has lectured extensively in N. America and internationally on medicinal aspects of mushrooms and mushroom cultivation.

Professor Gloria Lim, Ph.D, DSc
Professor Lim was Professor of Mycology in the Department of Botany, Head of Department and formerly Dean of Science in the University of Singapore and was Foundation Director of National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University. Professor Lim has published about140 papers and chapters in books on Mycology (Fungal Biology). She was on the editorial board of several international journals viz. Mushroom Journal for the Topics, MIRCEN Journal of Applied Microbiology and Applied Biotechnology, International Journal of Tropical Plant Disease. She was a member of Singapore Science Council, Singapore Science Centre Board, National Parks Board and also served on the Singapore Public Service Commission (1982-1996). She was awarded a Bintang Bakti Masharakat BBM (Public Service Star) in 1993 in recognition of contributions to the Public Service Commission.

Dr David Moore, Ph.D, DSc, FLS

Dr Moore is a Reader in Genetics in the University of Manchester, UK. He is a leading authority on fungal biology, his research interest being development biology of fungi. He has published 150 scientific papers, edited and authored 8 books in the field of fungal development and Genetics, most notable being ‘Fungal Morphogenesis’ published by Cambridge University Press in 1998. Dr Moore has 5 patent applications relating to fungal growth. He has served as an editor for International Abstracts of Biological Sciences, and has been a member of the Editorial Board of Transactions of British Mycological Society (now, Mycological Research ), and the Federation of European Microbiological Societies Microbiology Letters. He was the President of the British Mycological Society in 1997, a member of the European Space Agency’s Life Science Working Group, and Vice President of the European Society for Gravitational Biology and Space Medicine.

Professor Solomon P Wasser, Ph.D, DSc
Professor Wasser is a world renowned Mycologist, and is Professor of Mycology and Botany at the University of Haifa. He is also Chairman of the Department of Cryptogrammic Plants at the M.G. Kholodny Institute of Botany, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. Professor Wasser authored, co-authored and edited more than 350 scientific publications, including 32 books and 10 patents. He introduced 216 names for mushrooms including 37 new species. He is the Founder and Editor in Chief of the International Journal of Medicinal Mushrooms. He is also Director, Science and Technology of MedMyco Ltd, a fungal biotechnology company in Israel, our associated company.